65 days

So, the hardest part of the journey has begun.  I drove him to the airport yesterday.  Now begins our 65 days without daddy.  The kids and I made a paper chain to mark the 65 days.  Each evening before bed we will get to rip one more link off of the chain.  I also had him do a recordable story book, and the kids LOVED that.  So, now we wait.

My to-do list is immense but thankfully I have an incredible support network here to help.  My wonderful in-laws had us over for dinner last night, mom drives in for the weekend, and I’m grabbing lunch with friends.  I couldn’t do this without them.  I am terrible about asking for help or accepting it freely but that is something that is changing by sheer necessity.  I think that is a good thing.  At the end of all of this, if I end up a little less type A and a little more willing to lean on the support of others it would be a good thing.  My mom sweetly reminded me that I don’t need to be Atlas on this journey.  I have an army of folks to help carry the world with me and for that I am deeply grateful.

Now off for some retail therapy!

Leave a Reply

