Sleep

We are both suffering from lack of sleep. Him on his side of the world and me on mine. I’d like to say I use this opportunity to be hyper productive but alas that is not the case. By the end of the day I just want to be a sloth. It is interesting how my energy levels ebb and flow. Right now is an ebb period I guess. Trying to help the kids regulate their own emotions and find our new normal, our new groove, all while shouldering the responsibilities of the house and pets finds me pretty tapped out by days end.

I am trying to be kind to myself too. But at the end of the day that looks a lot like watching PBS. I am still accomplishing my to-do lists and so very thankful for all of our friends and family here but I think a big piece of me wants to hibernate for the next 8 weeks. I am resisting this urge and keeping us all busy though which is much healthier in the long run, if exhausting in the short term.

Thankfully the kids are starting to regulate emotionally and the paper chain is working nicely. I just wish sleep was not so elusive.

Leave a Reply

